The Sacred Order of Mary Immaculate is a religious and dynastic chivalric order dedicated to the Immaculate Conception of the Blessed Virgin Mary. The Order descends from the Confraternity of the Most Holy Immacolata (in reference, of course, to Mary Immaculate), founded in Palermo, Sicily in 1270. The Confraternity provided health service and assistance for its members and for pilgrims. It also provided burial services for the poor, as well as requiem masses for all the companions and their families. The Prior of the original Confraternity was Frá Girolama Busà. Other priests at the time that held special sacred offices included Don Vincenzo Carastro and Don Salvatore Virzì.

Mary Immaculate, Patroness of the Order
The Immaculate Conception of the Blessed
Virgin Mary was defined as dogma by Pope
Pius IX in 1854. The feast day is 8 December,
which is also kept as the Feast Day of
the Sacred Order of Mary Immaculate.

Above: "Sicilian Vespers" by Francesco Hayez

The early years of the Confraternity included the period of the Sicilian Vespers in which a movement in Sicily succeeded in removing Charles I d'Anjou, King of Sicily and Naples, replacing him with Peter I as King, a member of the House of Barcelona. Interestingly, Charles I was also descended maternally from the Spanish House of Barcelona. However, there was public opposition in Sicily to rule by the French House of Anjou. Combatants who opposed the Angevins (House of Anjou) During often had a battle cry of "Viva la SS. Immacolata," or "Long live the Most Holy Immaculata. During the warfare of the Sicilian Vespers, members of the confraternity provided humanitarian assistance to those in need, and the confraternity's priests provided the sacraments to those on the point of death.

Star of a Bailiff Grand Cross of Justice

Later, in the 14th century, the confraternity took on the nature of a chivalric order, and its members became knights. Today, the Sacred Order of Mary Immaculate is one of the ecclesiastical descendents of the original confraternity and order of knights of the Immacolata. Like the original confraternity, the hallmark of the modern knights and dames is hospitality and service to the needs of others.

Insignia of a Knight/Dame
Commander of Grace.

Cordon of a Bailiff or Knight/Dame
Grand Cross of Honour & Service.

Knights and Dames must exhibit devotion to the Holy Church and service to others. Candidates are admitted in recognition of proven humanitarian or military service. The order is part of the patrimony of the Anglo-Italian Imperial Patriarchate (Anglican Rite Roman Catholic Church) and is under the hereditary leadership of the Etrurian household. The order particularly represents the titular Rhineland territories of the patrimony of the Patriarchate and Southern Italy. The line of the Imperial Patriarch descends from Peter III, King of Aragón, King of Sicily, of the House of Barcelona that ruled in Sicily after the Sicilian Vespers. The Aragón claim was based on the spouse of Peter III, Constance, who was the daughter of Manfred, King of Sicily, 2nd-great-granddaughter of Friedrich I Barbarossa, Holy Roman Emperor (House of Hohenstaufen). Constance of Sicily was also 2nd-great-granddaughter of Roger II, King of Sicily, of the Norman House of Altavilla. Today the Imperial Patriarchate is heir to the House of Barcelona in Imperial Italy.

L-R: Justice - Honor & Service - Grace

Cordon of a Bailiff or
Knight/Dame Grand Cross of Justice

The order is divided into the ranks of Bailiff Grand Cross, Knight Grand Cross, Commander, and Knight or Dame, with three divisions, Justice, Honor and Service, and Grace, and two classes, civil and ecclesiastical. The Knights and Dames of Devotion are the professed knights and dames of the order. The traditional badge consists of a cross of Saint John, who took the Blessed Virgin as his own mother after the crucifixion, with a gold star in the center for Mary's Queenship of Heaven. In between the four points of the cross are gold eagles, taken from the Santa Croce Badge found in the Etrurian and Patriarchal flag, coat of arms, and other symbols. The ribbon is green, representing the Rhineland patrimony of the Imperial Patriarchate, the Electorates of Trier and Mainz, as well as representing health, in reference to the order's ancient practice of providing care to those in need.




















This is the official website for TRH the Prince and Princess of Etruria and Prince Rutherford Johnson of Etruria, Prince of Florence. This is the official website for TRH the Prince and Princess of Etruria and the Cardinal Prince and Princess of Florence. The Legal Disclaimer for the Royal House of Etruria in the Holy Roman Empire. The Royal House of Etruria in the Holy Roman Empire, the Royal House of Johnson-Etruria-di Daniell, and the House of Johnson-Etruria-di Daniell are d.b.a.s of a non-profit religious corporation incorporated within the United States of America. This website in its entirety is the Intellectual Property of the Royal House of Etruria. The information, text, photos, documents, and media in any form whatsoever contained in this website is International and United States Copyright and Trademark Protected. No part of this website, may be copied, shared, or transferred without specific, written permission of the Royal House of Etruria. The unauthorized use, disclosure, copying, or alteration of this website is Unlawful and Violation is Subject to possible Civil and Criminal Penalties. The Royal House of Etruria, all dbas, and its parent corporation, and its members are not and will not be liable for any direct, special, indirect, or consequential damages arising from alteration of the contents of this website by a third party or as a result of any malicious code transferred to a third party by virtue of visiting this website. Crown, International, and United States Copyright Held © 2008-2013, All Rights Reserved.